ISAC Honorary Membership is conferred upon persons who have brought outstanding contributions to antimicrobial chemotherapy. The awardee in 2017 was Professor Liu. He was one of the founders of Infectious Diseases Society of Taiwan (IDST) and was the key initiator for IDST as an affiliated society of International Society of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy in 1999. Professor Liu’s major research interests include epidemiology of antimicrobial resistance, clinical infectious diseases, and infection control. An avid researcher, Professor Liu has authored more than 100 original and review articles.

Professor Liu is an Associate Professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Internal Medicine at the Taipei Veterans General Hospital and National Yang Ming University.

2017 Awardee

Professor Liu (centre) was presented with the award at the 30th ICC in Taiwan and is pictured here with Ian Gould (left) and Po-Ren Hsueh (right), 30th and 31st ICC Presidents respectively. 

Previous Awardees

2015 Lindsay Grayson
2015 David Hooper
2015 Robin Patel
2015 Craig Rubens
2013 Kurt Naber
2011 Fernando Baquero, Javier Garau, Helen Giamarellou
2009 A. M. Geddes
2007 G.N. Rolinson
2005 J. D. Williams
1985 R. Fujii, G. Gialdroni-Grassi, T. Ichikawa, G.H. Werner
1981 C. Grassi, P. Sensi
1977 G.F. Gause, P. Malek
1975 G.K. Daikos, H.P. Kuemmerle, P. Preziosi, R. Rentchnik
1973 E. Chain, J. Treffouel
1971 M. Finland, L.P. Garrod