Masaaki OhkoshiThe award was founded in 1995 for the best clinical study on the subject of urinary tract infections published during a two-year period. The first three awards were sponsored by Professor Masaaki Ohkoshi and all subsequent awards have been sponsored by the Japanese UTI Committee. These awards have been presented at every International Congress of Chemotherapy since 1995. 

Nomination Procedure

The successful papers are selected on the basis of originality of the idea, study design and importance in the care of patients. There is no call for nominations at present.


2017 Awardees

Ildikó Gagyor and Jutta Bleidorn (Germany)

The 2017 recipients were Ildikó Gagyor and Jutta Bleidorn for the publication: Ibuprofen versus fosfomycin for uncomplicated urinary tract infection in women: randomised controlled trial which was published in the British Medical Journal in 2015.


Previous Awardees

2015 Thomas Hooten
2013 Marielle A.J. Beerepoot