Yen AwardProfessor Chi-Zhong Yen was born on 6 December 1888 in Taijing, China and died on 13 October 1974 in Taipei, Taiwan. He graduated from the Faculty of Medicine, Tokyo Imperial University of Japan in 1915 and then studied bacteriology at the Institute of Infectious Diseases of this University. He moved to Taiwan in January 1947. Professor Yen was appointed Professor at the National Taiwan University College of Medicine (NTUMC) and retired in July 1973. For 26 years he led the education and research programs of microbiology at the NTUMC. Consequent on Professor Yen’s extensive experience in the prevention of infectious diseases and in medical education, he was invited to serve as the Dean of NTUMC and later as the Director of Taiwan Serum Vaccine Institute. In 1968, Professor Yen gathered together experts in the fields of medicine, agriculture, science and industry and founded the Chinese Society of Microbiology. He was the first, second, and third President of the Society (1968-1973). He also served four times as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Microbiology, Republic of China (now Journal of Microbiology, Immunology, and Infection [JMII]).


The Award worth 2500 USD is sponsored by the Taiwan Society of Microbiology and will be awarded to the best lecturer during the International Congress of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy on any subject related to clinical microbiology and infectious diseases as judged by the award committee.

2019 Awardee

Professor Kwen-Tay Luh

Dr. Luh is the Emeritus Professor in the Departments of Laboratory Medicine and Internal Medicine at the National Taiwan University College of Medicine (NTUCM). He graduated from NTUCM in 1962 and moved to Taipei Tuberculosis Center in 1967. Two years later, he returned to National Taiwan University Hospital (NTUH) and worked at Departments of Laboratory Medicine and Internal Medicine. He received one-year training in clinical microbiology at the University of Washington, Seattle in 1973. He was promoted to Professor of Laboratory Medicine in 1985. In 1993-4, he spent 6 months at Department of Thoracic Medicine, King’s College Hospital in London as a visiting professor.

His clinical and research interests include clinical microbiology, infectious diseases and pulmonary medicine. He formerly was the Chairman of the Department of Laboratory Medicine of NTUH, the Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Formosan Medical Association (JFMA), President of the Infectious Diseases Society of Taiwan (IDST), and also President of Taiwan Society of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine (TSPCCM). He retired from the university and was elected as the president of this Association and also serves as a member of Anti-tuberculosis Committee of Department of Health and Welfare, Taiwan, He was also elected as the President of Taiwan Anti-tuberculosis Association. as well as the President of Taiwan Chapter,. International Union against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease (IUATLD) (2003 - 2011). . Professor Luh has authored/co-authored over 400 publications in related fields.

Ruwen Jou accepted the award on behalf of Prof. Kwen-Tay Luh at the 31st ICC - 4th GCCMID in Dubai in 2019. 

Ruwen Jou is pictured with 31st ICC President, Po-Ren Hsueh and President-Elect, Andreas Voss.

Previous Awardees

2017 Shigeru Kohno
2015 Professor Alasdair Geddes
2013 Professor Wing-Hong Seto