2021 marked 100 combined years of fighting infectious diseases (ID) and antimicrobial resistance (AMR) for ISAC and APUA.

International colleagues, past and present, shared their recollections of the societies in a series of short videos.

Click the pins to watch videos already uploaded and to see which ones are coming soon (yellow).

ISAC, originally the International Society of Chemotherapy for Infection and Cancer (ISC), was founded in 1961 at a time when the specialties of antimicrobial and anti-cancer chemotherapy were intrinsically linked. Since then, they have diverged to become independent specialties in their own right and, over time, the society oriented towards antimicrobial rather than anti-cancer chemotherapy. This focus led to the society’s current name, the International Society of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (ISAC). ISAC, a federation of Member Societies, now has 92 Members around the world which in turn have over 60,000 individual members.

In 1981, Stuart Levy founded the Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics (APUA); the first organisation to address antibiotic preservation; a topic which has become a specialty in its own right; that of “antibiotic stewardship”. Coinciding with Stuart’s retirement, APUA took the decision to merge with ISAC in 2019, given ISAC’s further refining of its focus towards antimicrobial stewardship and antimicrobial resistance.

Plans to celebrate the combined 100th anniversary were being made for ISAC’s biennial International Congress of Chemotherapy (ICC) due to be held in Perth, Australia in November 2021. The COVID-19 pandemic means the 32nd ICC will now take place in 2022 and face-to-face celebrations are deferred until then. It is important nonetheless, to mark the fact that 2021 is the 100th anniversary year. A number of friends and colleagues of both ISAC and APUA have recorded short reflective messages which are posted on ISAC.world and social media as they are uploaded (see above).

A webinar on the history of ISAC was presented by Professor Alasdair Geddes and Prof. Pierre Tattevin (APUA Board Chair) presented on APUA.