This is the highest award given by ISAC for outstanding contributions in the field of antimicrobial chemotherapy. It is generously sponsored by the Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation of Japan.

Professor Umezawa had a brilliant career and made many key discoveries in the fields of antibiotics, anticancer drugs and immunomodulators over many years. The discoveries of kanamycin (1957), josamycin (1967) and bleomycin (1965) were perhaps his most outstanding successes.

The first of his 12 antibiotic discoveries dates from 1949, the first of his 18 anticancer drugs from 1953 and the first of his enzymes inhibitors from 1969. Professor Umezawa received many accolades and honorary doctorates, and was even honoured by the Vatican. He was a great supporter of the ISC and a kind host to many foreign visitors to the Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation, of which he was the director.

Please click HERE for a list of previous awardees and their lecture titles.

HUMA Medal


The award is intended to honour individual researchers, scientists or clinicians who have made outstanding contributions in the field of antimicrobial chemotherapy. The award may be given for individual pieces of meritorious work or to honour an outstanding career in antimicrobial chemotherapy.


The award of 10,000 Swiss Francs, a certificate and a medal will be bestowed upon the successful nominee at the 31st ICC - 4th GCCMID in Dubai in 2019. The awardee will also receive a funded place at the Congress and deliver a 40-minute lectur

John Turnidge

2019 Awardee

Professor John Turnidge

We are delighted to announce that Professor John Turnidge is the 2019 HUMA awardee. Professor Turnidge has had a distinguished and well-respected career in antimicrobial chemotherapy for more than forty years. Currently, Professor Turnidge is a Clinical Professor at the University of Adelaide as well as the Scientific Secretary for the European Committee on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing and the Senior Medical Consultant for the Australian Commission for Safety and Quality in Health Care’s (ACSQHC) Antimicrobial Usage and Resistance (AURA) project.


Professor Turnidge graduated in medicine from Sydney University in 1974 and subsequently trained in infectious diseases and microbiology at Flinders Medical Centre. He has a long-standing interest in antimicrobial prescribing and antimicrobial resistance, and has contributed nationally in these areas to government, international organisations and learned societies, including the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC), the Australian Therapeutic Guidelines-Antibiotic writing group, the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the US-based Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI).


Professor Turnidge has held numerous antimicrobial-related appointments throughout his career and these include: President of the Western Pacific Society for Chemotherapy; founding President of the Australian Society for Antimicrobials (ASA); Past President of the Australian Society for Microbiology (ASM); Member of the ACSQHC Health Care Associated Infections Antimicrobial Stewardship Advisory Committee; Member of the ACSQHC Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee; Chair of the Antibiotic Resistance Reference Group, NPS Medicine Wise; Chair of the National AST Committee (AUSNAC); Member of the ACSQHC Healthcare-Associated Infection Advisory Committee; and Member of the Australian Scientific and Technical Advisory Group National Antimicrobial Resistance Strategy.


Professor Turnidge has been an investigator on nine NHMRC research grants and his current research activities involve antimicrobial resistance surveillance and susceptibility testing, new antimicrobials, antimicrobial pharmacodynamics and antibiotic use.


Professor Turnidge was presented with the HUMA award during the 31st ICC – 4th GCCMID in Dubai by Professor Takao Shimizu from the Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation.

Professor Turnidge presented his keynote lecture on In Vitro Veritas - Susceptibility Testing in the 21st Century.