ISAC 2019 Award Winners!

ISAC's 2019 Awards were announced during the successful 31st ICC - 4th GCCMID in Dubai. Congratulations to all awardees! Visit the website to see highlights of the congress.

NEW! ISAC Fellow Award

We are delighted to announce the launch of the ISAC Fellow Award. The merit title of ISAC-Fellow (FISAC) is an honorary title of the society to recognise individuals who excel in their field or have delivered outstanding services to ISAC. 

As outgoing ISAC President, Professor Po-Ren Hsueh was presented with the first Fellow Award.

The full list of ISAC Fellows can be found here. Congratulations to all recipients for their distinguished contributions!

Hamao Umezawa Memorial Award (HUMA)

The HUMA is the highest award given by ISAC for outstanding contributions in the field of antimicrobial chemotherapy. It is generously sponsored by the Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation of Japan. The 2019 awardee is Professor John Turnidge, Clinical Professor at the University of Adelaide. Prof. Turnidge presented his keynote lecture on "In Vitro Veritas - Susceptibility Testing in the 21st Century" at the 31st ICC - 4th GCCMID.

Honorary Membership


ISAC Honorary Membership is conferred upon persons who have brought outstanding contributions to antimicrobial chemotherapy.

The 2019 awardee is Professor Shaheen Mehtar. As long-time founding member and leader of Infection Control Africa Network (ICAN), Professor Mehtar has fostered collaboration and scientific exchange between African countries and succeeded in building strong collaborations with international professional societies, as well as WHO and CDC. Read More >>

ISAC Meritorious Membership

ISAC Meritorious Membership is conferred upon persons who have extraordinarily contributed to and supported the aims of ISAC.

The 2019 awardee is Professor Ian Gould who has served on the ISAC Executive Committee since 2005 as an Ordinary Member, Treasurer, Secretary-General, President and Immediate Past-President.

Yen Award

The Yen Award is sponsored by The Taiwan Society of Microbiology in memory of Professor Chi-Zhong Yen.

The 2019 awardee is Professor Kwen-Tay Luh, Emeritus Professor in the Departments of Laboratory Medicine and Internal Medicine at the National Taiwan University College of Medicine.

Tom Bergan & John D. Williams Memorial Awards

The two highest scoring abstracts submitted via the ISAC Young Investigator Travel Award application process from countries with limited resources are awarded the Tom Bergan Memorial Award and the John David Williams Memorial Award.

Jayalaxmi Wangkheimayum (India)
Using endogenous methyltransferase genes as biomarker and kanamycin as signal molecule in detection of multidrug resistant Escherichia coli of clinical origin.

Urooj Ibrahim (Pakistan)
Fosfomycin an alternative for the treatment of methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA).

ISAC Young Investigator Travel Grants

Travel Grants were awarded to applicants from ISAC member societies who submitted exemplary abstracts. This year's recipents are:

  • Shakeel Mowlaboccus (Australia)
    Alarming expansion of penicillin-resistant Serogroup W Neisseria meningitis clone: Western Australia (2013-2018)
  • Dishon Muloi (UK)
    One-health genomic epidemiology of antimicrobial resistant Escherichia coli carriage in sympatric humans and livestock in Nairobi, Kenya
  • Yoshikazu Mutoh (Japan)
    Azithromycin combination therapy increased emergence of antibiotic resistant Streptococcus pneumoniae in elderly patients hospitalized with pneumonia
  • Shasank Sekhar Swain (India)
    Development of potent and cost-effective sulfamethoxazole-phytochemical hybrid antibacterial followed by computer-aided drug design
  • Siarhei Yahorau (Belarus)
    Interactions of bacterial infections with latent cytomegalovirus in patients in critical condition
  • Jinxin Zhao (Australia)
    Decipher the mechanisms of polymyxin resistance in Acinetobacter baumannii by genome-scale metabolic modelling


Back to News